Divided States Of America / Laibach 2004 Tour

Razdružene države Amerike

Rozdělené státy americké

  • Sašo Podgoršek
  • Slovenia
  • 2005, 64 min
Script: Sašo Podgoršek
Photography: Sašo Podgoršek
Editing: Sašo Podgoršek
Music: Laibach
Color: Colour
Language: English

The film captures the American tour of the Slovenian post-avant-garde group. The concerts took place in 2004, at the same time as the American Presidential elections, in which George Bush won his second term in office. _ The first of the fifteen concerts takes place in Washington a day after the election results are announced. Dark clouds cover the sky and its raining. Podgoršek is filming in the United States at a time when it is waging a war in Afghanistan and Iraq and combating the world-wide threat of terrorism. These events are dividing the United States. _ The footage from the concert tour captures the post-election atmosphere. The cities are pasted with election posters, but the lights of fast-food restaurants still shine through the night. The truth isn't real, say the group's members, and while the comments made by the American fans are dominated by a strong anti-conservative tone. _ Laibach is the musical part of the artistic association called N.S.K. (Neue Slowenische Kunst), whose members provocatively recycle religious symbols, Nazi art, and socialist realism in order to brutally ironise the aesthetics of totalitarianism. Laibach's music typically features a booming, marching rhythm and clamorous fanfares. _ The musician's convictions are that the art of communism, fascism, and all varieties of nationalism is essentially the same, as its purpose is to guide the masses. In this sense their trip through America represented a new form of confrontation.

Photo Gallery

Festival edition: 2006
Sections: Between the Seas
Exhibition format: DVD PAL
Subtitle languages: English


Visitor accreditations for the 22nd Ji.hlava IDFF are now open